You can also fully lockdown some of your WordPress pages using the specific page lockdown feature.
When a page is fully locked down and an anonymous visitor lands on that page, he will see nothing but a login prompt only (he will also be able to become a member by clicking on the “join us” link). Only your logged in members will be able to see any content of a fully locked down page.
Visit the following link to see a demonstration of a fully locked down page (make sure you are not logged into the site as a member to find out exactly what a non-member will see):
The above link will open in a new window.